Fantastic Korean Movie

I just finished watching The Man from Nowhere, a South Korean film, and it was absolutely amazing! It has got to be one of the best movies I’ve ever seen, which says a lot coming from Kristen Starling’s daughter (which means nothing to you all, of course). I’m going to follow this tangent for a moment. My mother, while being a raving mad harpee, is well versed in the cinematic world.  I remember one day when I was in 8th grade, I’d decided to count how many movies she owned just out of curiosity-I ended up counting 553. And the worst part was, I’d seen them all save about 25 of them.

Since then, I’ve seen probably double that. So, when I say this movie was one of the best I’ve seen, it has to contend with a lot of others. Here’s a little summary:

A quiet pawnshop keeper with a violent past takes on a drug- and organ trafficking ring in hope of saving the child who is his only friend.

Cute, right? The actor for the protagonist, Bin Won, is mind-blowing in this film. His eyes captivated me in each scene. They were just so expressive, reflecting all of the character’s experience and restrained anger. And his character is the silent badass type, which just adds to the awesomeness of the fight sequences. Not only that, but the little girl is adorable and quite the little punk.

Also, there are some characters that have a deep complexity to them, such as one of the hired guns for the antagonist. The relationships in this movie are so interesting and well developed, which is a breath of fresh air from the recent American movies that have come out. I’m not saying American films bite, but some of the more recent ones have left much to be desired. For me at least.

Anyway, I highly recommend this movie. I think I might do my Film analysis on this one. I’ll just sprinkle some of my favorite screenshots…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Gold Standard Protein Powder

Leave a Reply

